Watts Hospital School of Nursing Graduation

Abstract/Description: Pictured, left to right, are Kathryn (Featherall) Troy, second hospital matron/superintendent, 1896-1897; Alexine "Ella" Betton, third hospital matrol/superintendent, 1897-1900; Martha Anne "Annie" Ferguson, graduated in June 1898; George Washington Watts, founder of Watts Hospital; Mary Eva O'Hagan, graduated in June 1898; Lily Haughton Cowan, graduated in June 1898; Ethel Gilbert Clay, graduated in August 1897 (she was the first graduate and only one in her class to finish the training program).
Subject(s): Durham County (N.C.)
Date Created: 1897